• Community & Visitors
    Community & Visitors
  • Families
  • Alumni
  • Faculty & Staff
    Faculty & Staff
  • Current Students
    Current Students
  • Prospective Students
    Prospective Students

Wesley Celebrates Spring Commencement


United States Senator Christopher Coons speaks at Wesley's commencement ceremony


Two hundred and fourteen students graduated at Wesley College’s spring commencement held May 10 at the Dashiell Amphitheater on campus. Dr. Ray Yin, founder and CEO of ANP Technologies, delivered the commencement address, sharing his story of moving to America and becoming a successful entrepreneur. His company, ANP Technologies is one of the leading companies in biodefense and nanotherapeutics. Yin was presented an honorary doctorate degree from the College during the ceremony.

The 141st commencement ceremony included greetings from United States Senator Christopher Coons, who spoke about the value and privilege of receiving an education and Robert V.A. Harra Jr., the chair of Wesley’s board of trustees who congratulated graduates and families. Outgoing Student Government Association President Kira Tieman also provided some remarks on behalf of the senior class, highlighting the students’ achievements. Tieman graduated cum laude with a degree in political science on Saturday.

Education major Melissa Boyd received the “Faculty Award,” the highest honor given to a Wesley graduate. The faculty nominates and then selects the student that is most outstanding in the class. Boyd graduated cum laude with a bachelor of science in education. During her time at Wesley, Boyd served as the editor-in-chief of the campus newspaper, The Whetstone, raising awareness of on-campus issues and student rights through her news stories and editorials.

Bachelor of Science in biological chemistry cum laude graduate Gabriel Fernandez-Bueno was recognized during the event for earning the 2014 Undergraduate Award from the American Chemical Society - Division of Environmental Chemistry. This is the fourth time a Wesley College student has won this highly-selective national award. On average the Society selects fewer than 25 students annually throughout the United States for this honor.

The College also acknowledged longtime faculty members during the ceremony. Retirees Dr. Michael Nielsen, professor of media arts and Dr. Judith Strasser, professor of nursing, were named faculty emeriti. Nielsen has served the institution for 24 years building the media arts program from the ground up. Strasser has been teaching at Wesley since 1996 and was instrumental in helping create the master’s of nursing program built around community health. In addition, Faculty Emeritus Lon Fluman, a professor of art at Wesley from 1964 to 2011, was honored with an honorary doctorate degree.

To view photos from this event, visit Wesley’s flickr site.